Update a license key
If you have a working activated Phototeca instance and want to upgrade it with a new license key, you must remove the current license before entering a new one.
Phototheca Library overview
When you first use Phototheca, you create a new library. This library automatically becomes your default library. By default, your library is stored in the “AppData\Local\Phototheca\UserData2” folder that is inside your Windows user folder, but you can move it to another location on your PC or store it on an external storage device.
Change Phototheca Library location
There are two different use cases related to change in Phototheca Library location:
Change Local Photos Storage Location
Local Photos Store is the folder where Phototheca copies photos from memory cards and smartphones. More details are here: Overview of importing
Back up the library in Phototheca
It’s important that you always back up your library locally, to avoid data loss. To make a backup of a library, follow the next steps:
Remove not valid thumbnails
If photos that are in Phototheca were moved to locations different from where they were imported, Phototheca loses track of files, and thumbnails become not valid. You can recognize such thumbnails by the badge “no file” on thumbnails. Such thumbnails are almost useless then.
Remove empty Events and Albums
If at some point you have a lot of empty Events or Albums, are left after the reorganization of a library, to remove them all follow next steps:
Start over with an empty library
To remove absolutely all items from a library and start from scratch, follow the next steps:
Refresh a library with changes in photos
If photos of a library were modified with other programs and Phototheca missed to pick up a change, you can run the entire scan of all photos, looking for changes.
Migrate from Phototheca Classic to Phototheca X
All Phototheca releases prior to August 2021 are named Phototheca Classic. Starting August 2021 Phototheca changed its name to Phototheca X, introducing a new feature set and a new way of software updates distribution. Users who switch to Phototheca X from Phototheca Classic have a choice, either have two independent Libraries or migrate their current Phototheca Classic Library to Phototheca X.