If you keep your photos on NAS(Network-attached Storage) or on network servers in an organization and don’t want Phototheca to make local copies of photos – you easily can switch this off.

Go to menu Edit->Settings->Advanced and make sure check-mark “Do not copy photos from network shares” is turned on.

Read more: Import from network shares